USP Electronic Research Repository

Publisher to twelve countries

Crowl, Linda A. (2003) Publisher to twelve countries. LOGOS: The Journal of the World Book Community, 14 (4). pp. 200-205. ISSN 0957-9656

Full text not available from this repository.


Which twelve countries cover an area more than twice that of United States and share a single university? The answer is the Pacific Islands, and the university is the University of the South Pacific (USP) located in Suva, Fiji. The Pacific Islands (cook Islands, Fiji, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Nauru, Niue, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tokelau, Tonga, Tuvalu and Vanuatu) are an extraordinary mixture of races, bound together only by the fact that they are scattered over the world’s largest ocean. They also share one element in their history: they have been colonized at various times- by Britain, France, Germany, New Zealand, Australia, Japan and the United States. Today they are all self-governing, except for Tokelau, which is a territory of New Zealand.

Item Type: Journal Article
Subjects: Z Bibliography. Library Science. Information Resources > Z004 Books. Writing. Paleography
Divisions: Faculty of Arts, Law and Education (FALE) > Oceania Centre for Arts, Culture and Pacific Studies
Depositing User: Ms Mereoni Camailakeba
Date Deposited: 23 Apr 2003 04:30
Last Modified: 09 Jul 2012 08:01

Actions (login required)

View Item View Item